BRITE

Brain Injury Canada is proud to introduce an exciting new project: BRITE (BRain Injury and TEens), an online resource for youth aged 13-18 living with brain injury.

BRITE logo

BRITE will serve as the go-to resource for teens impacted by brain injury – providing them with access to education and information that will answer their questions; provide recommendations for physical and emotional support; connect them to peers and professionals; and provide them with the tools they need to feel empowered to take their next steps, wherever they may be in their journey.

We Need Your Help

The first of its kind in Canada – this online, interactive, resource will empower and inspire youth impacted by brain injury. Did you know:

  • Brain Injury impedes social cognition and a child’s ability to cope with every-day social tasks such as sharing, helping, and initiating relationships [1.
  • 31% of adolescents will experience physical, cognitive or emotional symptoms more than one month after injury [2].
  • After experiencing a concussion, youth have been found to experience a greater severity of symptoms, and take longer to return to school and sport compared to younger children [3.

One gift. Double your impact

When you support the BRITE resource fundraising campaign, you are supporting teens with brain injury who need access to resources and information. And if you donate today, you will double your impact. All donations will be matched dollar for dollar by our Honourary Patron Dr. Daniel C. Andreae to a maximum of $15,000.

Here are some examples of how your gift could build the BRITE resource.

  • Your gift of $1000 will become $2,000. This donation will support the development of interactive tools to help teens understand their brain injury, provides coping tools for their mental health, and connecting to their community.
  • Your gift of $500 doubles to become $1,000. This donation will provide a pre-recorded educational video webinar, led by an expert in brain injury and designed specifically for teens.
  • Your gift of $250 transforms into $500. This donation will support the development of the BRITE podcast to help youth understand their brain injury, provide strategies for living with brain injury, and act as a form of peer support.
  • Your gift of $100 becomes a gift of $200 and will support the development of a pre -recorded interview segment with an expert on a topic important to youth and posted on BRITE.
  • Your gift of $75 doubles to become $150. This donation will cover the costs to further develop the BRITE community, providing teens with the opportunity to connect, and share tips and tools with others from the brain injury community.
  • Your gift of $25 doubles to become $50 and will contribute to the cost to continually provide new resources, tools, and tips that best meet the needs of teenagers impacted by brain injury in Canada.

Any and all donation amounts are appreciated. When you make your gift, you can share an encouraging and empowering message with teenagers in the brain injury community – letting them know their future is BRITE.

Thanks to your generous donation we will be able to better support youth living with brain injury.

All donations of $100+ will receive an exclusive BRITE Supporter Badge that can be proudly displayed on your organizations website, LinkedIN profile and via social media.  

Three Pillars of BRITE

Writing in notebook
Information and Education tools
Group of youth walking in nature
Mental health resources
Youth sitting at table talking with laptops
Community building

This resource will focus on the areas of mental health; education and play; relationships; and transitioning into adulthood. It will be developed in partnership with and feature supporting resources from institutional and community partners.

Developed under the guidance of a Scientific Advisory Committee of leading Canadian experts in clinical care and research in brain injury, this resource will integrate evidence-based knowledge with insights from individuals with lived experience.

 

Thank you to our Corporate Donors

 

 

BRITE Program Q&A:  

 

Who is the BRITE Resource being developed for?
The BRITE Resource is being developed for Canadian youth, aged 13 – 18 years, who have had a brain injury or who have a loved one with a brain injury. Content will be accessible, age-appropriate and reflect the varying experiences of individuals living with brain injury in that age range.
Why are you developing this resource?
Brain injury is complex and often life-long. Acquiring a brain injury as a teenager adds extra layers of difficulty to a time of life when an individual is already struggling to discover who they are and what they want their next chapter to be. Our goal is to empower youth to take control of their own knowledge development by providing peer-reviewed, evidenced-based information that can give them answers to their questions about brain injury; address their concerns; and give them tools to take next steps, wherever they may be in the recovery journey.
What is included in the BRITE Resource?
The BRITE Resource will include the following, all developed exclusively for teens and based on input from the brain injury community:   The Three Pillars of BRITE 1.    Information/Education Resources 2.    Mental Health Resources 3.    Community Building
What is the fundraising goal for the BRITE Resource?
The total budget for this project is $50,000. Brain Injury Canada is pleased to announce that we have already received a commitment from our Honourary Patron Dr. Daniel C. Andrea; who will be matching funds up to $15,000, for a total of $30,000!  That means when you make a gift to support the BRITE Resource, your gift will be matched dollar for dollar!
Who is involved in the development of the BRITE Resource?
Brain Injury Canada is working with key stakeholders from the brain injury community, including our Scientific Advisory Committee, professional health care workers, and those with lived experience (parents and youth who have grown up and can reflect on their experience) to ensure we are addressing the needs of the community.

 

Sources

BRITE

Lésions cérébrales Canada est fière de présenter un nouveau projet prometteur: BRITE (BRain INjury and TEens), adolescents et traumatisme craniocérébral (TCC), une ressource en ligne pour les jeunes de 13 à 18 ans vivant avec des lésions cérébrales.

BRITE

BRITE servira de ressource de référence pour les adolescents touchés par les lésions cérébrales, en leur donnant accès à l’éducation et à l’information qui répondront à leurs questions, en leur fournissant des recommandations en matière de soutien physique et émotionnel, en les mettant en contact avec des pairs et des professionnels et en leur fournissant les outils dont ils ont besoin pour se sentir habilités à passer aux prochaines étapes, où qu’ils se trouvent dans leur parcours.

Nous avons besoin de votre aide

Une première au Canada – cette ressource interactive en ligne permettra d’autonomiser et d’inspirer les jeunes touchés par les lésions cérébrales. Saviez-vous que :

  • Les lésions cérébrales nuisent à la cognition sociale et à la capacité de l’enfant de faire face à des tâches sociales quotidiennes comme le partage, l’aide et l’établissement de relations [1].
  • 31 % des adolescents auront des symptômes physiques, cognitifs ou émotionnels plus d’un mois après la blessure [2].
  • Après avoir subi une commotion cérébrale, on a constaté que les adolescents éprouvaient des symptômes plus graves et prenaient plus de temps à retourner à l’école et à faire du sport que les jeunes enfants[3] .

Un cadeau. Doublez l’impact.

Lorsque vous soutenez la campagne de collecte de fonds BRITE, vous soutenez les adolescents atteints de lésions cérébrales qui ont besoin d’accéder à des ressources et à de l’information. Et si vous faites un don aujourd’hui, vous doublerez votre impact. Notre président d’honneur, le
Dr Daniel C. Andreae, versera une contribution de contrepartie jusqu’à concurrence de 15 000 $. Voici quelques exemples de la façon dont votre don pourrait aider à bâtir la ressource BRITE.

  • Votre don de 1 000 $ deviendra 2 000 $. Ce don appuiera l’élaboration d’outils interactifs pour aider les adolescents à comprendre leurs lésions cérébrales, leur fournir des outils d’adaptation pour leur santé mentale et établir des liens avec leur communauté.
  • Votre don de 500 $ sera doublé pour devenir 1 000 $. Ce don permettra d’offrir un webinaire vidéo préenregistré, dirigé par un expert en lésions cérébrales et conçu spécialement pour les adolescents.
  • Votre don de 250 $ se transformera en 500 $. Ce don appuiera la création du balado BRITE pour aider les jeunes à comprendre leurs lésions cérébrales, fournir des stratégies pour vivre avec des lésions cérébrales et agir comme plateforme de soutien par les pairs.
  • Votre don de 100 $ deviendra 200 $ et appuiera l’élaboration d’un segment d’entrevue préenregistré avec un expert sur un sujet important pour les jeunes et affiché sur le site web de BRITE.
  • Votre don de 75 $ doublera pour devenir 150 $. Ce don couvrira les coûts de développement de la communauté BRITE, donnant aux adolescents l’occasion d’établir des liens et partager des conseils et des outils avec d’autres membres de la communauté des lésions cérébrales.
  • Votre don de 25 $ doublera pour devenir 50 $ et servira à fournir continuellement de nouvelles ressources, de nouveaux outils et conseils qui répondent le mieux possible aux besoins des adolescents touchés par les lésions cérébrales au Canada.

Tous les dons sont appréciés. Lorsque vous faites un don, vous pouvez transmettre un message encourageant aux adolescents de la communauté des victimes de lésions cérébrales – en leur faisant savoir que leur avenir est prometteur.

Grâce à votre généreux don, nous serons en mesure de mieux soutenir les jeunes qui vivent avec des lésions cérébrales.

Tous les dons de plus de 100 $ recevront un insigne exclusif de BRITE qui pourra être affiché fièrement sur le site web de votre organisation, votre profil LinkedIn et vos médias sociaux.

Trois piliers de BRITE

Writing in notebook
Outils d’information et d’education
Group of youth walking in nature
Ressources en santé mentale
Youth sitting at table talking with laptops
Développement communautaire

Cette ressource portera sur la santé mentale, l’éducation, le jeu, les relations et la transition vers l’âge adulte. L’outil BRITE sera élaboré avec des partenaires institutionnels et communautaires, dont il partagera les ressources de soutien.

Élaborée sous la direction d’un comité consultatif scientifique composé d’experts canadiens de premier plan en soins cliniques et en recherche sur les lésions cérébrales, cette ressource intégrera des connaissances fondées sur des données probantes et des témoignages de personnes atteintes de lésions cérébrales et leurs proches.

Merci à nos entreprises donatrices

À qui s’adresse la ressource BRITE?
La ressource BRITE est conçue pour les jeunes Canadiens âgés de 13 à 18 ans qui ont subi une lésion cérébrale ou dont un être cher a subi une lésion cérébrale. Le contenu sera accessible, adapté à l’âge des jeunes et reflétera diverses expériences de jeunes qui vivent avec des lésions cérébrales.
Pourquoi créez-vous cette ressource?
Les lésions cérébrales sont complexes et leurs effets durent souvent toute la vie. Subir une lésion cérébrale à l’adolescence ajoute des couches de difficulté supplémentaires à un moment de la vie où on a déjà du mal à découvrir qui on est et ce qu’on veut faire dans la prochaine étape de notre vie. Notre objectif est de donner aux jeunes les moyens de prendre en main leur propre développement des connaissances en leur fournissant de l’information évaluée par les pairs et fondée sur des données probantes qui peut leur donner des réponses à leurs questions sur les lésions cérébrales, répondre à leurs préoccupations et leur donner les outils nécessaires pour passer aux prochaines étapes, où qu’ils se trouvent dans le processus de rétablissement.
Que comprend la ressource BRITE?
La ressource BRITE comprendra les éléments suivants, tous conçus exclusivement pour les adolescents et fondés sur les commentaires de la communauté des lésions cérébrales : Les trois piliers de BRITE
  1. Ressources d’information et d’éducation
  2. Ressources en santé mentale
  3. Développement communautaire
Quel est l’objectif de la collecte de fonds pour BRITE?
Le budget total de ce projet est de 50 000 $. Lésions cérébrales Canada est heureuse d’annoncer que nous avons déjà reçu un engagement de la part de notre président d’honneur, le Dr Daniel C. Andrea, qui versera une contribution de contrepartie jusqu’à concurrence de 15 000 $, pour un total de 30 000 $!  Cela signifie que lorsque vous faites un don pour soutenir la ressource BRITE, chaque dollar de votre don sera jumelé!
Qui participe à l’élaboration de la ressource BRITE?
Lésions cérébrales Canada travaille avec des intervenants clé du milieu des lésions cérébrales, y compris notre comité consultatif scientifique, des travailleurs de la santé et des personnes ayant une expérience vécue (parents et jeunes qui ont grandi et qui peuvent réfléchir à leur expérience). Cet éventail d’intervenants nous assure de pouvoir répondre aux besoins de la collectivité.

  Sources